Crochet blanket complete

Do you remember the blanket I started between Christmas and new year? well I finally completed it last weekend.

It’s now sat on the end of our sofa just waiting to be used on these chilli March evenings.

It measures 1.5 meters by 1.3 meters. The red and cream stripes are double crochet and the grey mostly single crochet, with a few rows in the middle being double crochet (where I used a slightly thicker yarn). I did not follow a pattern. I started by chaining to the width of the blanket I wanted and then crocheting stripes of different widths and colours, trying to keep the colour changes and size of each stripe random.

At the moment I feel I am not reading enough books (too many blogs but not enough books!). I spent too long in February trying to get in to a book that I didn’t dislike but equally there was nothing making me want to pick the book up so consequently I didn’t. This morning I decided to sign up to good reads (you can find me here). I’ve added all the books that I can remember having read (over the last 5 years possibly longer) so that I can get recommendations based on these. However I have a problem remembering books I have read before so it is by no means all of them. There is also the option to set yourself a challenge of reading x number of books in 2012. I’ve started low with just 12 books this year. I love that I can keep a record of books I want to read and also that it will give me personalised recommendations based not only on the books I have read but those I have put on my to read list. Does anyone else use good reads?

Also linking up with our creative spaces.

11 Responses to Crochet blanket complete

  1. Shara says:

    Love your blanket. Red is one of my favorite colors.

  2. Lise says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    I love your blanket! It’s so cheerful and simple.

    Some can’t-put-it-down books you might love: “The Help,” “The Thirteenth Tale,” “The Secret Life of Bees.”

  3. Love the stripes. πŸ™‚ And I second the recommendation on THE HELP.

  4. Kylie says:

    What a great idea! I love the spontaneous plan for the design – fabulous blanket πŸ™‚
    I always forget books too.. I think it’s because I read so quickly I don’t retain it for long πŸ˜‰ Good luck finding a new read… I’ve been addicted to Haruki Murakami’s novels lately. Kx

  5. Jo's Place says:

    Lovely blanket, perfect to keep the chill away πŸ™‚

  6. Love your blanket. I have vague visions of me crocheting a blanket one day. Can’t decide on design though!

  7. Tammy says:

    Your blanket is beautiful. Love the stripes and the colors. I have so many WIPs that I just need to get on with. Have a great weekend. Tammy

  8. Knitrageous says:

    That looks so soft and comfy! I love the colors you chose too!

  9. Pingback: Amigurumi dinosaur and currently reading « Claire's 365

  10. Mandy says:

    OH Love it! Great job!

  11. hstuart3 says:

    Your blanket is really pretty! Love the colors and it looks super cozy,

Leave a Reply

