Currently reading and crocheting Christmas stars

Out of the blue I have developed an interest in learning to crochet. So I bought a hook and a ball of wall and away I went. I used various utube videos and blog tutorials to teach myself the basic stitches. Once I felt confident bored with practicing rows of the different stitches I knew I needed a project. I decided to make Christmas stars. I used this pattern here. I’ve not quiet decided what to do with them yet, hang them on the tree? use them as part of my gift wrapping or string some together to make a garland?

I’ve also been trying to find more time to read. I’ve just finished Room by Emma Donoghue, which despite being tough reading in places, I loved and finished pretty quickly for me. I stumbled upon an online reading group and their book for December is The language of flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh. This book is on my list of books that I have heard about and want to read and was in stock at my local library so I’ve decided to jump in. I’m only about a quarter of the way in but enjoying it and making the time to pick it up regularly (a good sign for me).

Linking up with Yarn along for further inspiration for reading, crochet and knitting.

8 Responses to Currently reading and crocheting Christmas stars

  1. Martha says:

    They’re beautiful red stars (I think they’d look lovely on your tree, as green compliments red so nicely, and you could later make a blanket out of them)!

  2. Karen says:

    Welcome to the world of crochet! LOL

    Oh, I really like those! Thank you for the link to the pattern.

    Love the color, I have to agree with Martha – they would look lovely on your tree

    blessings
    Karen

  3. Ooh, I think they would make great gift package toppers. Especially on a plain colored white or butcher paper. Congrats on conquering crochet!

  4. They are lovely! I just learned to crochet a few months ago and I love it. xx

  5. Lori says:

    i love the little stars, and i love the idea of a pretty garland…

  6. Pingback: 2011 in review « Claire's 365

  7. Pingback: Yarn along, crochet and reading January « Claire's 365

Leave a Reply

