Day 34 – Playing around with manual mode

11th October 2010

Whilst out walking on the 10th, I attempted to take some photos using manual mode. To be honest I struggled and reverted to using the other modes on my camera. I found myself taking too long, struggling to remember if I would need a high or small aperture value to photograph landscapes and finding it difficult to get the exposure meter balanced. I’ve been following 31 days to a better photo and although everything was starting to fit in to place in my mind when reading it, actually taking the photo’s with nothing to refer to was quiet difficult. Today however I had time to play around with my camera at home where I could refer to the different articles and really get to grips with manual. The only problem was selecting something to shoot. These photos are of a glass paper weight on top of some colourful wrapping paper. I was inspired by an idea in Understanding close-up photography by Bryan Peterson which I found in my local library today. The original idea used a cheese grater to reflect the patterns in but my cheese grater wasn’t big enough to fill the frame.

 

ISO 200, f1.8, 1/250

 

 

 

ISO 200, f9, 1/10

ISO 200, f22, 0.8

 

 

One Response to Day 34 – Playing around with manual mode

  1. Mama Monkey says:

    what an awesome idea!

Leave a Reply

